Must read by an amazing math teacher and coach here at GCSD!

Greece Athena Staff Blog

Last week, Jason asked me an important question: “Is a professional learning community (PLC) a more efficient way to do things for teachers?”  My answer was a strong YES… here’s why.

I have had the opportunity to attend two conferences that focused on the implementation of the Professional Learning Community process.  The first conference took place in California in July 2011 and the second location was a November event in Ontario, Canada later that same year.  Both events strengthened my belief in the PLC process and prepared me to help shape this process at Athena.  Before I attended the conference in July, I’m not sure that I would have answered “yes” to Jason’s question.  I think its easy to view the PLC process as just another initiative that your district is making you do.  Make no mistake, this process could definitively be a waste of time if not truly endorsed and supported by teachers and administrators…

View original post 262 more words

Leave a Reply

